Richard Lloyd succeeds Charles Randell as FCA President

Richard Lloyd OBE has become interim chairman of the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), succeeding Charles Randell CBE, who stepped down yesterday after four years in the role.

Lloyd (pictured) will remain in the role until HM Treasury appoints a permanent successor. A recruitment process is currently underway.

Earlier this year, it was announced that an evaluation advisory committee had been formed to find the next permanent president of the FCA.

The panel includes fintech experts such as Ron Kalifa, author of Kalifa Review into fintech, and Gwyneth Nurse, who has been Director of Financial Services at the Treasury since 2015, making her the public face of government policy for peer- to-peer. lending industry.

Charles Roxburgh, second permanent secretary to the Treasury, will chair the panel, which also includes Richard Lloyd OBE and Alison Brittain, chief executive of Whitbread.

Randell took over as Chairman of the Boards of the FCA and the Payment Systems Regulator (PSR) in April 2018. Aidene Walsh has served as Acting Chairman of the PSR since April 1, 2022.

Read more: FCA appoints new consumer and small business panel chairs

Randell will not hold any other positions with FCA or PSR.

Lloyd joined the FCA Board in April 2019 and has served as Lead Independent Director, Chairman of the Board’s Risk Committee and Chairman of the Oversight Committee.

He also chairs the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority and is a board member of the Advertising Standards Authority. He was a founding trustee of the Money and Mental Health Policy Institute.

Lloyd directed Which? as Executive Director from 2011 to 2016, and before that he was Chief Executive of the World Federation of Consumer Organizations.

Read more: FCA president warns of dangers of giving government intervention powers

Comments are closed.